Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Help me understand the rise in unemployment.

PresidentClinton07

Well, basically.... George W. Bush.

And that is the answer.

Well I'm not going to open that can of worms......:)

Basically, some of it can be attributed to outsourcing and tax cuts for businesses that move offshore.

Outsourcing has really hit the textile industry (believe me, I have a degree in textiles) because Americans simply lose out to Asia and South America because of labor costs here. Also, a lot of people blame these free trade agreements because an American made towel would cost as much as $8 each while a towel made in Pakistan that you find on the rack at WalMart is $3. This is just my experience in the textile sector, but imagine the discrepancy in electronics or automotive production.

As far as tax cuts for offshore big business, I don't know much about it, but for some reason I can't wrap my head around why this concept is even practical for American workers or why it was implemented in the first place. Maybe someone can enlighten me on this.......

Well I'm not going to open that can of worms......:)

Basically, some of it can be attributed to outsourcing and tax cuts for businesses that move offshore.

Outsourcing has really hit the textile industry (believe me, I have a degree in textiles) because Americans simply lose out to Asia and South America because of labor costs here. Also, a lot of people blame these free trade agreements because an American made towel would cost as much as $8 each while a towel made in Pakistan that you find on the rack at WalMart is $3. This is just my experience in the textile sector, but imagine the discrepancy in electronics or automotive production.