Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Question for weightlifters

adamyesme1111

ok I am a freshman and highschool and I have been lifting weights for a long time. I gained about 30 pounds of mass (and unfortunately fat).

So now im at 6'0" 195 and I am running significantly slower then I used to. I am now going back to try to lose weight. After I lose weight I am going to go on some kind of workout plan called a zig zag. (if you work out often you probably know what that is).

I have talked to a couple experts and done some reasearch, and it is my understanding that if you lose weight, it is hard to keep muscle as well. I am wondering how would be the best way for me to maintain my muscle as I lose about 15-20 pounds.

Some people have said to do less weight and more reps, as it doesn't give you mass but it gives you strength. I am worried that if I do go down to like 85 or 95 pounds where I can actually lift it 50-70 times, and I do that for the next month or two where I am losing weight, am I really going to be able to come back and put up 175 still?

Should I just continue working out with 155 doing 10-12 reps of that? Will that maintain my muscle...Is it even possible to maintain my muscle while I lose weight?

I would of course try to lose weight and gain muscle at the same time but I came to the conclusion that that is IMPOSSIBLE, except with the zig zag workout plan.

Any advice?

Edit: if it matters at all the weight figures I was talking about is bench pressing, I do other excercises as well but was just using that as an example

ok I am a freshman and highschool and I have been lifting weights for a long time. I gained about 30 pounds of mass (and unfortunately fat).

So now im at 6'0" 195 and I am running significantly slower then I used to. I am now going back to try to lose weight. After I lose weight I am going to go on some kind of workout plan called a zig zag. (if you work out often you probably know what that is).