Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A football officials perspective of what happened

kingdaddy

I've been reffing football for 16 years and can understand a lot of how officials call football games. On the 2 point conversion play I can tell you that the side official, the line judge, had no idea if Alstott broke the plane of the goal line. When he ran in and threw up his arms so late it was because he saw Alstott laying go the goal line after he pulled the ball up on his chest. Even though you could not see where the ball was on one single angle of replays, you COULD determine where the ball was after looking at the two or three different angles that they had. I don't believe that the head referee took long enough to look at the replays and combine the angles to make the right call.

There are all sorts of reasons why we lost this game, but, make no mistake about it, the fact is that Alstott was down before that ball crossed the goal line. How can viewers sitting on their sofas see this and the officials who watch the same replay not? I don't know if there is a more frustrating way to lose a game than on an officials blown call supported by replay.

Hopefully, in the future, we won't put ourselves in this position again.

By the way, the force out call was absolutely terrible. It happened on the same sideline.

All we can do is move on and grow from this.

Yeah I posted earlier than the NFL needs to institute a policy where the refs don't just run up to the pile a few seconds later and go by what they see at that moment. Of course the defense relaxes after the whistle and the ball carrier will no doubt move the football forward by then.

The honus should be to not signal anything and go to the replay, because it should indisputably be proven that a TD has been scored, rather than indisputably disproven that a TD (which the ref actually had no idea about) was scored as called on the field.