Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

The Hockey Players Thread

Springfield

I hope it's OK, but I'd like to create a thread strictly for people on this board who play the sport of hockey. The NHL/Caps threads are great but it's hard to carry on a conversation about the sport itself while others are trying to talk players, teams, games, goals, etc.

I know that there are at least a handful of regular posters on this board who play at some level. Perhaps more than I even realize.

I'd like to open this up for discussion of people who play hockey, used to play hockey, are interested in playing hockey, and whatever else. Adult amateur is a growing sport in this country and especially in this area with the resurgence of the Washington Capitals.

Now that we got the purpose of the thread out of the way, I suppose I'll start.

I've been playing now for two years now. Started skating when I was a kid but never had the money (or parents with money) to play. After I asked my wife to marry me, I decided that I'd spend some money on myself and bought gear and started skating at open skates once or twice a week. Soon enough I was signed up to start playing in a Novice league in Fairfax, VA. I've played a total of 4 seasons and are now at a D level which is just a step above Novice.

When I started playing, I wanted to play wing. I played that well enough but I now play defense mostly. I'm an above average skater for my level but my puck skills are sub par. I also have one of the better slap shots on my team but I don't get to use it nearly enough. I like playing defense a bit better, mainly because you can see the play up ice a little better. However, getting scored on when you are on the ice sucks. Playing wing, you don't feel nearly as bad when the other team squeaks one by your goalie.

I suppose that's enough out of me for now. I could talk hockey all day long. Now to the other fellow hockey players on this board...