Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Shanahan Will Give McNabb a Running Game

kingdaddy

Watch for Donovan McNabb to play better in DC than he did in Philly because of the fact that Mike Shanahan will give him a running game. I've been comparing Donovan McNabb to John Elway for the past 5 years because Denver totally relied on Elway to win games before Shanahan gave him Terrell Davis and a running game. Giving McNabb a running game will make him a more complete and dangerous QB to defend against. It will also keep him healthier.

Shanahan believes in running the football. Andy Reid does not believe in running the football. And, with a solid defense, it should be all about piecing together the O-line at this point.

How about trading Big Al to Baltimore for Gaither, the offensive tackle, and possibly a 4th or 5th round pick?

I agree. I wasn't a fan of the trade but there is no doubt McNabb is an immediate upgrade over Campbell and the fact he won't be throwing the ball 50 times per game as he did in Philly should only work to his advantage. The thing I'm most excited for is bringing the deep ball back to DC! McNabb has a very accurate deep pass so the days of watching Moss streaking wide open down the sideline only to have Campbell miss are finally gone. He has to be licking his chops. McNabb will also provide our 2nd round "busts", Thomas and Kelly, the chance to show their wares as well!

Chris Cooley and Fred Davis are going to love having McNabb. Donovan has always liked the TE in the red zone (see Chad Lewis, LJ Smith, Brett Celek).

Also, with the additions of McNabb and Larry Johnson, the offense just got some attitude to push the others.

Willie Parker will be the man running the screen passes.

Watch for Donovan McNabb to play better in DC than he did in Philly because of the fact that Mike Shanahan will give him a running game.