Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Which Skins do you think will have a breakthrough year?

NoCalMike

Michael Westbrook, of course. I've been making the same prediction for almost 10 years.

Wait, you mean he's not with the team and probably won't play in the NFL again?

Then I'll say Fred Smoot. He has to put up or shut up this year. We all know he's not capable of the latter, so he needs to come up with a stellar performance this year.

1. Patrick Ramsey - Interesting note. The Skins average for points went up with the defense giving the ball back to Ramsey. He delivered enough to have the team point average go up to about 21 points a game. He handled pressure very well toward the end of the season and recognition of options improved as well.

2. Fred Smoot - yes he can yak. He is very aware that unless he improves on his game, he will be victimized by a flood of plays directed at him. Parcells makes no bones about attack a weak link repeatedly, using different looks. That's twice a year to see that truck coming and he has to respond. He is more confident in a system that he understands a lot better and for him it is all he'll need to move in space, jam, stop the run and support. He may gamble, but not as before, which keeps him more plays. He's not shy on tackling, so that's a plus.

3. Flemister - the TE isn't a go to guy in Spurrier's offense, as much as wideouts, slots, or even RB's, but Flemister's confidence on the offense should grow with each catch and so should his RAC.

4. DMAC - Darnerian McCants has two years and motivation from Taylor Jacobs, Richmond Flowers, and Cliff Russell to make the most of each touch. He Will.

5. Regean Upshaw - though he's looked good in Oakland, he'll look even better, because the LB corp is solid, giving him more flexibility, and use of his speed. If he's careful not to knife in and see only the cleats of the RB go by him, he should be a sure headache for opposing OL's, QB's and RB's.