Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Need some legal help

Titaw

This one is for any of our ES lawyers, particularly in Maryland. Here's a quick run-down on what is going on.

I have been renting for almost 3 years in the same home. My landlord has been great for the most part. Well, in January I found out that I was approved for a VA Home Loan and my wife and I go to closing on the new house on Monday (March 2). Here are the issues that have come up as a result:

- Our lease was a one year deal signed in July of last year. This means we have 3 months remaining on the lease.

- Our lease states that the landlord or tennant must give 30 days notice if the lease is going to be broken or terminated. (We notified him on January 26 that we will be vacating the premises on Mar 7)

- My landlord notified me YESTERDAY that he wants to do a walkthrough on March 8, so he can list the house.

I have looked through the laws online and it states that the landlord must make every effort to ensure he has a tennant once they are notified that the lease will be broken. In my opinion he should have known that he had to ensure the home was walkthrough ready to list the house because we aren't the first tennants he has had. I honestly don't believe that he has made every effort to ensure he has a tennant in the house.

While looking online I found that Maryland Law states you cannot charge over 5% of the amout owed for a late fee. The monthly rent was $1250 with a $100 late fee last year and $1275 with a $75 late fee this year. According to my calculations he can only charge a maximum of $62.50 last year and $63.75 this year.

I really don't want to have to shell out 3 months of rent. My question is two parts 1) Am I correct about the laws? 2) If I refuse to pay the 3 months rent that is remaining on the lease do I have a case due to what I have found?

I am not qualified to answer that question but think there is some information missing as the story was misleading to me.