Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Money The Root of all Evil

Jagsbch

how the he!! do you expect me to believe that oil is the source of this war.

what about Saddam's imprisonment of the iraqi people?

what about his attempted assasination of president bush senior?

what about his weapons of mass destruction?

what about his missiles that go an illigal distance?

think before you talk, Jagsbch

No, it's not about oil

By Benjamin Davis

Special to the Star-Telegram

I am a soldier in the U.S. Army, stationed overseas. I watch the news and read in the newspapers daily that my fellow citizens are against going to war with Iraq.

"No blood for oil" or "Let the U.N. inspectors do their job first" is the chant of the protesters.

What? How can people be so mistaken about the current situation in Iraq?

If there is a war, it will not be about oil. It will be about removing a tyrant from power over a helpless nation.

Saddam Hussein has killed thousands of Iranians and Kurds, a minority group in the northern region of his own country, using chemical and biological weapons.

He is no different from Adolf Hitler, who also killed thousands and then millions with the same tactics.

Saddam has defied the United Nations numerous times. How many chances does he get?

The United Nations is only delaying the inevitable war; the longer it waits, the more Americans and soldiers of coalition countries will die when the war to remove Saddam does happen. This back-and-forth negotiating that the United Nations is conducting with Iraq is the sign of a weak organization that no longer works.

More people need to understand that America's decisiveness in dealing with problems like Saddam's regime is what makes our country strong. If we do not deal swiftly with evil, it will only grow and become more harmful to the world.