Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Al Khatania and Al Jazera

nonniey

Finally got time to get on the computer. I don't normally post on my experiences over here but this was a bad one. Toured the Al Khatania and Al Jazera Blast sites yesterday and was dumb-founded by the amount of damage caused. These two towns are almost exclusively Yazidi, a small Kurdish sub-minority in Northwestern Iraq. A very Pro-American group (Don't jump to the conclusion that is why they were targeted as AQIZ would have hit them even if they weren't Pro-American).

Two truck bombs and two car bombs hit these towns (I only saw three sites). I'm not an engineer but I'd guess the truck bombs were in excess on 10,000 lbs.

The damage the trucks caused was almost beyond belief. Walking up on the site on the main road from the east there were collapsed and burned out structures a 100 meters down from where the bus station was. I think the bus station was the only concrete reinforced structure in the blast areas and there was nothing left of it. Looked like most of the dead that had been recovered were from this site as three bucket loaders were working away. Fortunately by the time I got to the site about 11:00 yesterday most of the victims that weren't still buried had been removed - not all though. About 175 dead were already gone.