Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Human Weapon - TV Show

Zen-like Todd

There's a new TV show on the History Channel called Human Weapon.

Two guys (one a MMA guy, and another guy who had a cup of coffee in the NFL as a DE and has a wrestling background) go around the world from country to country, focusing on a martial art and its country of origin. At the end of each episode, they have a match (typically with some restrictions/modifications) against an experienced high level practitioner/competitor of the art.

I've found it hugely entertaining and informative. So far they have covered Muay Thai, Escrima, and Karate.

I highly recommend it to anyone interested in the martial arts, or anyone who likes Man v. Wild/other survivalist shows.... basically, anyone with testosterone. ;)

Has anyone else in the Tailgate been watching this show?

http://www.history.com/minisites/humanweapon

As a Martial artist I tuned into this show. It's pretty cool. I saw about 1/2 the Muay Thai and all the Karate one.

I like the MMA guy, but the bald ex football player is a waste. He fought in the Karate episode and he should have been destroyed. He seems like just because he's big and strong he is going to be good enough to hand with a finely tuned fighting machine.

I have watched the Escrima and Karate episodes. They are pretty amazing.

The highlights that I particularly remember are

Escrima - a move where you slide your arm over the neck and under the arm of a grappler and force them down to the ground.

Karate - when the Sensei broke the baseball bat with a hand strike

• 2 weeks later...

I've been watching. Missed the last half of the Karate episode. The Savate was pretty interesting, and I'd like to try the Eskrima sparing with the foam covered metal pipe. That looked fun. Thanks for the heads up for tonight. Will set the DVR.

I think that their opponents on each show have been taking it easy. They're supposedly fighting champions caliber fighters.