Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Adhesive removal -- The Tampa Blog (4:02 update)

Art

Pete and I are in the box, smelling strangely of stale beer and cigar smoke. We just ate an omlette and will be wandering down to the field shortly to show Pete around. But, I'll start at least a little.

8 a.m., Saturday -- Precious daughter has pink eye in both eyes. And, she's sleeping like the dead. I stand over here crib making soft cooing sounds to wake her, but, she's totally uninterested in waking up. As I'm about to give up, in walk the dog and mommy and she opens her eyes and says, "Dog." The trip begins.

9:15 a.m., Saturday -- I'm now a professional airline passenger. Not only do I lock in exit row seats, but, I can get through security in seconds. All lines leading to gates are backed up for at least an hour making it iffy to get through in time. In Minneapolis this is solved by the "Skyway Security Checkpoint." I check my bag, walk under the airport, hit the tram, go up two levels and find absolutely no one waiting so I breeze through. Then I walk around to my gate. Couldn't be easier. I'm not sure if it's sad or great that I know this now.

6 p.m., Saturday -- Am comfortably in the hotel and on line checking out things. Buddy who was with us last year now runs a bar downtown and wants to give us free booze. Might save that for Sunday. Decide to watch the Michigan game at the bar. Karl Swanson and Sonny Jurgenson are there so I assume the team is as well. Call Larry but find they are just hitting the tarmac. I'm already eager for tonight. Apparently 60 degree temps in Florida qualify as cold. I'm in shorts. This is lovely.