Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Learning to write code....

DCBnG21

Wondering if anyone has any suggestions here. I'm currently a business tech product owner/Systems Analyst sorta hybrid. I'm finding though, that more and more, people hiring folks like me want you to be able to do some coding as well. So I was thinking out that I'd start with web code (HTML, Javascript - which I already know a little bit of, and can make minor corrections in) and then try to move onto some application code.

Does anyone have any suggestions on books, cheap classes, or easy places to get started? Or some forums that are easy on noobs?

I'd check your library to get started. Just about any library nowadays will have books on learning to write HTML, MySQL, stuff like that. A lot of them will also have books for languages like C/C++. The trouble with those languages is that they require a compiler if you want to practice with them. If you get lucky the CD may still be in the back of the book, but the chances are good that somebody's already either jacked it or forgotten to return it. From what I've seen libraries aren't too picky about getting those things back.

Alternatively you could look on Borders or Amazon for one of those same books, and if you buy it new it will definitely have the CD. Or I imagine they have some intro to programming classes at a local community college.

HTML is not code.

Javascript is ok I guess. Although I don't see many people looking for Javascript developers these days.

Get a book like Perl for dummies, if you want to play around for free download java from sun or java.com. Build a few simple programs like hello world. Playing with random coding languages is silly other than to see if you have an aptitude to be a programmer

Disclaimer 1: I've read several books on the manual coding of web pages using various tools. I have not actually done so.