Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Fix it yourself thread

Zguy28

I need some help. Any appliance repairmen in the Tailgate?

I have a Kenmore dryer that for some reason just decided today to stop heating. The drum and timer seem to work okay, but no heat. I checked the lint filter and exhaust, and its fine.

I checked for continuity on the various parts and they seemed okay, except for one part. In the bottom right of this diagram, you see H1 and H2 which is where the heater is. I have current on H2, but not H1. Does that mean the whole heater is bad?

DryerWiring1.jpg

By the way i am an electrician not a appliance repairman. We should still be able to work our way throught this.

Lets start simple first when the dryer is running do you have power on H2? Make sure that the switch 2M and 1M is letting power through.

Also i am assuming you have checked the element and it works.

Make sure you do not shock yourself also. :silly:

By the way i am an electrician not a appliance repairman. We should still be able to work our way throught this.

Lets start simple first when the dryer is running do you have power on H2? Make sure that the switch 2M and 1M is letting power through.

Also i am assuming you have checked the element and it works.

Make sure you do not shock yourself also. :silly:

I just went back and rechecked the continuity on H1 and H2 with the dryer running. It does appear now to have voltage on both sides.

I had my meter turned up to high the first time I think. :)

I just went back and rechecked the continuity on H1 and H2 with the dryer running. It does appear now to have voltage on both sides.

I had my meter turned up to high the first time I think. :)

If you are going to check continuity on the element you first need to have the dryer off and unhook the wires to the element. If you are checking the voltage at the element it should be running and hooked up.