Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Smith Machine VS free weights?

adamyesme1111

I am 15 years old freshman in higshchool (please don't bring up the age on my account anymore :laugh:) . Due to complications I haven't went to school yet but I am planning on going next year. Because I work out at home and most often alone, I have been using a Smith Machine to bench press. I bench probably like 205 now with the 25 pound bar on the Smith Machine, but lately I have been reading mixed feelings online about it.

Some people say Smith Machine is great. Some people say that it is a total waste of time. I know that since in highschool they use free weights I probably won't be able to bench as much when I go there.

In terms of my muscles and strength, did I miss out on anything because I have been using the Smith Machine instead of free weights?

you 15 and benching 205?

You are an animal!

I have never used the smith so IDK

I've been lifting weights for a couple years now lol.

And apparently 205 for the Smith Machine would be less for free weights.

I just hope the past 2 years weren't in vain because I've been using a Smith.

You haven't lost anything. You are good to go. Smith machines are easier then free weights. Free weights are great because you can add size with them and it works your stabilizers.

Smith machine is better for safety and it helps iso your target muscles better.

You probably have pretty good muscle endurance, switching to free weights will add the strength.

I'd say that 205 on a Smith is about 165 free weights. Still pretty good for 15.

since you're restricted to a fixed path (up & down) on machines you don't get to train those smaller muscles called the "stabilizing muscles". Whereas on free weights, its not just up and down, you're not restricted.