Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Who Here Owns Their Own Business?

mojobo

Just wondering who here owns their own business whether it be their primary income source or something they do on the side. I'm a business major and its always good to make a few contacts so thought I'd ask. Main things I want to know are:

1) What type of business do you own/operate?

2) How long have you owned this business?

3) What did it take to get started?

I just started my own business a few months ago. I do small construction/remodeling jobs on the side (mainly finished basements). My cousin is a partner. We contacted a lawyer to setup an LLC and obtained some liability insurance. We've been doing this type of work for about 3 years and finally decided to try and expand to do more so we created the business.

My full time job is a director of internal operations for a home building company, so I have lots of knowledge and contacts in this field. My cousin is actually a research chemist, but he enjoys the construction field a lot.

I actually just started a business a few months ago as a side project. Kind of fell into it. I made myself an obama t-shirt and started wearing it to events. Everyone wanted one, so I started a company to make and sell them. They're really taking off and it's supplementing my graduate student income nicely. The intial investment was about $300, but since then we've continually reinvested our profits to keep growing. We didn't go LLC cause it seemed like we couldn't have too much liability to try to limit. Just a straight up partnership.

Just put up a new website too:

www.visiblemanonline.com

edit...didnt mean to quote

I just started my own consulting practice last month. Still in growth mode, but the horizon looks awesome!