Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

We suck at covering the deep ball

project myu

I was just thinking about this because of the Vikings passing offense. I'm no expert at football, but I think our system consists of pressuring the quarterback so he can only throw short/medium routes so we place guys on defense in position to cover those type of passes and put minimal emphasis on covering the deep ball. That's my guess.

But if you look at the games throughout the year, receivers have regularly been slipping way past the secondary. In the first game, Galloway had Taylor beat and he just dropped that ball when he injured himself. In the Ravens game, I saw receivers getting open downfield and if Boller was half-decent, he would've hit them with TD passes. In the Bengals game, Chad Johnson got open deep and the only reason he didn't catch it was because Palmer underthrew causing Johnson to slow down and letting Sean Taylor catch up to him. And Pinkston was getting open downfield regularly, too against the Redskins.

And of course.. Last Sunday on the final play of the game..

I just hope none of that crap happens this Sunday.

I don't know, I think I disagree. We cover the long ball well. It's the short to medium pass that usually worries me, b/cuz the LB's (at least one of them) is blitzing. Granted, our safeties blitz from time to time, but besides the deep play in the Cowgirls game, I haven't seen that much all year. Show me stats, and I may agree with you. I'm not saying you're wrong, just saying what I THINK I've seen this year.

The Packers are the only team this year that have really beat us deep, and that was the game Taylor was deactivated for because of the DUI incident. We don't get beat deep on a consistent basis, and I doubt we get beat often against the Vikings. Springs + Taylor will hold Moss down.

Shoulda...coulda...woulda.