• Ray Rhodes
    • Joe Bugel
    • Art Shell

instresting

http://www.floridatoday.com/!NEWSROOM/columnstory0106PETEE.htm

Spurrier ponders a 'need'

By Peter Kerasotis

FLORIDA TODAY

He sounded like he was on a golf course, with an early morning wind blowing into his cell phone. But I didn't ask. Whenever you get Steve Spurrier on the line, you don't waste questions. You get right to the heart of the matter. You try to find out what caused him to walk away from being the Washington Redskins head coach and what his future is, and could it be coaching the Florida Gators again.

"I'm hearing that you're taking a year off," I said. "Is that accurate?"

"Yeah," Spurrier replied. "I'm going to take one to two off, and maybe all of them off. I've been a head coach 20 years. It's time for a little break. What we were doing up there (in Washington) wasn't working very well. So they needed a new coach, a new coaching staff. It seemed like the right thing to do to ease on out and let somebody else take over up there."

"If you do get back into coaching, do you see it back in the NFL, or back in college?"

"I don't see anything right now, Peter," Spurrier said, laughing. "I don't see anything but a guy that's coached 20 years as a head coach who is off. I don't like to use the word 'retire.' I'm just off for a while. I may be off all the time. If something hits me in a couple of years, then maybe that would be something that I would feel like I have to do, or need to do."

"I and other people couldn't picture you coaching college any other place but Florida. Could you see yourself coaching college somewhere other than Florida?