Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Installing a Sliding Patio Door

Btubes18

We have been looking to replace our old sliding patio door with either a new sliding door or french type doors.  I have been looking online and it doesn't seem to be a very difficult to install.  I was wondering if any of you have done this job by yourself?

We are not planning to change the size of the opening...it would simply buying a new door and replacing.

Any tips and/or tricks?

Any advice would be appreciated.

I have no experience with such things so I can't be of any help there. However, I thought it was important to note that I briefly glanced at this thread title out of the corner of my eye and my brain, for some inexplicable reason, registered it as saying "Installing a Sliding Potato Door".

I lol'd...because, seriously, who installs a sliding potato door?

I have seen doors installed by professionals and the like leak.  I think your biggest concern is properly caulking the door.

And the frame around it, too...our "contractor" was a couple inches off on the PVC, and improvised.  So far, no leaks, but I worry anyway.

Pop the trim off the inside and make sure you get the right size replacement, resizing the opening can be an unnecessary headache. Just because the nominal size is the same doesn't mean the frame thicknesses are.

If you are going from a slider to a slider it is different from a slider to french doors. Sliders are heavy and all the weight sits on the base, you want a solid, level surface for it to seat on. When you have the old one yanked check it out. Frequently you have an opening that's just built as a threshhold, but doesn't evenly support a slider. If/when the frame moves, bows, or flexes even a little you notice it in how the door operates or seals.