Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A Community Coming Together to Fight Cancer

KDawg

I work in a high school, in fact, it's the one I graduated from. Recently, we had one of our students who is 16 years old get diagnosed with cancer. The entire school and town have rallied behind this kid.

Last night was my contribution. I organized a basketball game against one of our cross-town rivals with the help of countless people. It took alot of time and work, but thanks to this awesome community we raised over $4,000 last night.

Prior to this whole thing, I was beginning to lose alot of faith in humanity, but this experience has woken me up to a whole new world. This has restored my pride in people, seeing what everyone did to band together and support this student in his fight.

We say it several times a day, but Eric (the young guy that has cancer) is NOT alone in this fight. He's got thousands of people on his side.

We call it Fight for Eric.

Here's the link to the basketball game last night:

http://rochester.ynn.com/content/top_stories/501196/plenty-of-support-for-greece-teen-fighting-cancer/

For the record, I'm #4 that's running around the court, you see me a few times, most notably diving (and failing) to get a loose ball. :)

Damnit. Stage 3 testicular cancer. That is really awful to hear, particularly in someone so young.

KDawg, I think it's great that there are people like you and other members of your community out there who are pulling together to help someone, and his family, in need. Thank-you for sharing this story. I truly hope this kid pulls through this and is able to beat this cancer.

KDawg,

That is an awesome thing that you did.

From someone who has lost a close family member to cancer, I can tell you firsthand that showing a person with cancer that they have a good support group has huge benefits. We can't beat cancer with good wishes, but a positive outlook can help greatly.

Nice Job - I'm sure his family appreciates your help.