Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

OT: Digital Cameras

RF4L

Any recommendations on a digital camera in the "less than $500" price range?

I've been researching at places like PCWorld and elsewhere, and it's a freaking jungle out there.

I'm a complete novice in this area and would value your opinions.

Thanks!

Before we can give you any advice, we need to know what you plan on using it for. What situations, how often, what environments, etc. Do you need to be able to print out large reproductions? Does it need to be able to shoot short video clips? How important is user-friendliness? Do you want one that is as compact as possible, or do you want one that looks like a conventional prosumer camera, so you can attach various conventional zoom lenses?

You know the old story, TCO, if you get too basic, then you wish you had more later on.:)

Right now, I'm thinking still shots of family, pets, places, etc., with the ability to download to my PC being the main objective.

I'm not thinking big reproductions or anything like that. User friendly would be nice, as would a semi-compact size, although that's not a major issue.

I suppose if I had a device with the capability of doing video clips, I'd like to get into that later on, once I got the hang of it, that is.

For now though, I'm thinking pretty basic point and shoot, with room to grow of course.

Thanks for your help!

I bought an Olympus D550 (3 megapixel) and am pretty happy with it. Pretty simple to use. I couldn't find many "expert" reviews, but all the user reviews were outstanding. It ran about $300 and came with software and a 16 MB card, plus a mail in offer for a free 64 MB card. The software isn't really necessary if you have Windows XP-- XP will upload and display pics automatically.

Originally posted by 70Chip

I recently bought a Canon S30 (S40 if you want four MP); I did fairly extensive research and it seemed to have uniformly good reviews. I have been *extremely* satisfied with it.