Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Any Drummers in the house?

Grizz

Yeah, that looks like a pretty good start for your youngster. I would also recommend purchasing him a metronome, practice pad, and a music stand, in addition to perhaps enrolling him in lessons to learn some basic rudiments. (His teacher should be able to suggest some books he can buy, such as Strick Control, etc.)

I'm a drummer and I used to sell drums...

TKO Percussion set for an 8 year old is decent. Just realize that if he ends up liking to play the drums, you'll have to buy a new set within the next 3 or 4 years. Or you'll have to make repairs on the TKO, which is like taking training wheels to the bike shop. Prepare down the road to spend a lot of money on drums until he gets a job and starts earning his stuff. Dunno your budget, but through my teens I burned most of my money on my kit.

A huge thing here is finding out what comes with the kit. Does it come with a bass drum pedal? If it does, the thing will probably start falling apart a few months in to it. Also, the drumheads are going to be from the factory, and even an 8 year old will dent them in no time. Drumheads are the single most important thing in getting a good sound out of drums. If you have an average set and really good drumheads that are tuned well, the set will sound $600 better than it really is.

The cymbals that come with the kit are going to be disgraceful. I recommend you go with a Sabian B8 beginners pack of cymbals.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Sabian-B8-Performance-Cymbal-Prepack?sku=443878