Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Does Anyone Here Ride Motorcycles?

Ignatius J.

I've been living in LA for about 6 years, and I have come to the conclusion that between traffic, parking, and gas prices, motorcycles are the way to travel around this city. I'm just beginning to look into this seriously so I figured I'd put a thread out to see what the peanuts have to say.

I want to learn how to ride a bike, but I feel a little old to start. I have a friend who just started and he said the best thing to do is to take a class on riding, so I'm looking for some classes to take, but I'm having trouble finding some. I've tried googleing various places, but I have yet to find anything interesting. (If anyone knows of any motorcycle schools in LA I'd love to hear from you!)

I also am curious about bikes. I've heard that it's best to start on a weak engine at most 300cc's, so I don't accdientally flip the bike over. Other than that I have no idea where to start looking for a bike.

What's the best way to learn about bikes? There are so many things on the internet that it's as if there were no information at all.

Anyway, any words on the subject would be appreciated. (although, if we could keep the kellen winslow and jay williams references to aminimum that'd be great)

For riding courses or schools, A.B.A.T.E should be able to help you find one. I'm not pro ABATE being they are big into no helmet fight around the country, but there is a lot they can offer to new riders.

The American Motorcycle Association (AMA ) should also be able to help you find the classes you need.

If all else fails, most of your reputable dealers have info on local riding courses. Many schools supply small cc bikes to learn on.