Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Resume advice

hockeysc23

So I found a job online that I would really like. It's something that I don't have day to day concrete experience in but my hobbies would apply. And I do work I could say is related

It's a marketing job that requires researching, planning, advertising, and social marketing.

I meet the minimum requirements they are looking for but since my degree is in Finance and my job experience is in Federal Consulting I know it is going to take some work to even get in the door.

Mostly I do some graphics work, work with clients, process mapping, process improvement, etc.

But this is a job I really really want.

Any advice to best frame my resume? Should my cover letter indicate how much I want the job and relate my intangible experiences?

Should I get letters of recommendation from coworkers about my ability to learn quickly new techniques and apply them to show I can learn a semi new field quickly while producing results?

Any thoughts, good wishes or ideas are appreciated.

Cover letter is key if its a person, no discussion of salary.

Research and ask pointed questions that show you did your research.

Follow up phone call and/or thank you letter for the time.

Be early for any interview and dress to impress.

When i was hiring, those that wanted it the most were easy to pick out.

PSA:

IF you fudge the resume and your fired in 90days, can you get your old job back?

I got friends still out of work since Feb (they were top 10% workers)... Don't mess around during a recession without a fall back.

Cover letter is key if its a person, no discussion of salary.

Research and ask pointed questions that show you did your research.

Follow up phone call and/or thank you letter for the time.

Be early for any interview and dress to impress.

When i was hiring, those that wanted it the most were easy to pick out.

PSA:

IF you fudge the resume and your fired in 90days, can you get your old job back?