Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

YHR:16 yr old Hispanic Gang member accused of shooting at county Deputies

ljs

Here is one article on the issue. I was going to post this yesterday but forgot. This happened near the area where I used to be a cop. It is a large illegal Mexican population and a large population of Mexican gangs. There are more shootings this year so far, than all of last year alone. It's not really new to the area- has been going on for about 2 decades. However, this year is really getting bad and making race relations even worse. Most every gang member arrested is Hispanic, and many are illegal. (not all) So there is definitely a lot of back and forth between cops/citizens and white/Mexicans.

http://www.yakima-herald.com/stories/2009/07/22/07-23-09-deputyfolo

OUTLOOK, Wash. -- Police say 16-year-old Jacob Almaguer purposely shot a Yakima County sheriff's deputy to prove his mettle to fellow gang members.

The boy's parents say otherwise.

"I just don't believe he did it," the teen's father, Jerry Almaguer, said at the kitchen table of the family's modest Second Avenue home in this rural community west of Sunnyside.

His son, arrested in Monday's shooting of Deputy Bobby Miranda, was ordered held Wednesday under $2 million bail during a juvenile court appearance.

Yakima County Prosecutor Jim Hagarty said he planned to file two charges of first-degree attempted murder against Jacob Almaguer today. Prosecutors also say they intend to charge him as an adult based on his age and the seriousness of the crime.

According to a police report read in court, witnesses told investigators they saw Jacob Almaguer with a rifle and heard him say he was going to "earn some stripes by flaming the two pigs."

He appeared close to tears as he looked around the courtroom and listened to the charges considered against him.

"Mom, come visit me," he said as he left the courtroom.

Shots from rifle