Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Recently bought a new car, why would dealer ask for these forms 3 months later?

n|n

I'm not an expert on DMV forms but hopefully someone can shed some legal light on why I'd be asked for 2 VA DMV forms.

The short story is I bought the car in Jan, I've already made payments, then these forms are overnighted to me (blank) asking me to sign where it says 'owners signature'. These are definitely directly from the dealership. One of these is a power of attorney so what am I signing away here?

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa70.pdf

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa66.pdf

The power of attorney is to broad for my comfort.

Have you received the title yet?

Have you talked to the dealer?

It sounds like a refinancing deal or else they screwed up the original paperwork.

I financed the vehicle so I assume the title went to the leinholder. Some of the original paperwork was, in fact, screwed up but I signed the new paperwork and was done with that a long time ago.

In a case where the title may have been lost I can see a new signature needed from me but really questions why my signature on a POA is needed.

The dealer needs POA to title the vehicle in your state and have the DMV send it to the lienholder. Pretty standard form when financing any vehicle.

If you got financing through small lender, just like housing, they sometimes sell your loan to a bigger outfit. This may be the case as well.

Get a full explanation before you sign anything. Both of those forms together look kinda shady to me.

Yep,there may be a reason for it but I fail to see the need for the POA since you are local.

btw, you should receive a copy of the title with the lien holder listed as well as yourself.

The dealer needs POA to title the vehicle in your state and have the DMV send it to the lienholder. Pretty standard form when financing any vehicle.