Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Question for any lawyers about a new "policy" at work...

Jaron

I'm hoping to get some opinions on a new "policy" that my employer just enacted.

First some back story....

I'm an overnight pharmacist that works for a chain-pharmacy.(I won't name which one) My schedule has me working 7 straight nights, followed by 7 days off. So, every other week I work:

Mon-Thurs: 10pm-8am

Friday: 10pm-9am

Saturday: 8pm-8am

Sunday: 6pm-8am

That's a total of 77 hours per week that I am "on".

When I was hired, about 1 1/2 years ago, one of the benefits offered to me was 80 hours of vacation time to be used however I wanted. If I wanted to use all 80 at once and have 3 straight weeks off, so be it.

Now, us overnighters have been told that they can no longer cover our vacation time and they are adopting a "policy" from another chain-pharmacy that you have to submit your vacaction during your off-week. In other words, they will pay us for the 80 hours, but we don't get any days off.

I feel that this is borderline discrimination. For example, say that an overnight pharmacist and a daylight pharmacist both request Aug 3rd off. The daylight pharmacist will get paid for his vacation time AND get the day off, while the overnight pharmacist will get paid the vacation time but will NOT get his shift off. Can my employer do this????

Any/all opinions are welcome, not just lawyers ;)

Sorry if it is confusing....

Yes, there are currently 8 overnight pharmacists in a total of 4 stores(2 per store), and we are the only ones that aren't "allowed" to take our vacation.

We get paid 40 hrs per week reguardless if it is our "on" or "off" week.

Week 1: work 77 hours get paid for 40

Week 2: work 0 hours get paid for 40

Week 3: work 77 hours get paid for 40

Week 4: work 0 hours get paid for 40

etc....