Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Joe Gibbs, the Body Bag Game & Why We Beat the Giants This Week!

Angry Red

Been reading/lurking on this board since the very beginning but this is one of the few times (possibly the first time) I have posted. I am very confident we will win this weekend and here is why (kind of long sorry):

During the 1990 season the Skins suffered one of their most humiliating defeats against the Eagles, on Monday night no less, in what has become known as the "body bag" game. In that game the Eagles knocked out 7 of our players including both our starting and backup quarterbacks. If you remember we finished the game with rookie Brian Mitchell at quarterback running the option. In fact, 5 Redskins had to be carried off the field during that game.

The game was especially humiliating for me personally as I was a freshman at George Mason Univ. that year and I had two guys from Philly on my floor that gave it to me pretty good the week after the game.

In a similar fashion, many of the Eagle's players and their coach Buddy Ryan ridiculed the Skins after that game. As some of you may remember Coach Gibbs was not a big fan of Buddy Ryan and I am sure he was really embarrassed by that loss and p!ssed because of who the loss was to.

Well the Skins turned things around that season, made the playoffs and wouldn't you know it, they ended up with a first round matchup versus Ryan's Eagles at the Vet. With the humiliation for that loss still fresh in his mind Gibbs challenged his team in the week leading up to playoff game, reminding them of the beating they took in the "body bag" game and according to the Washington Post saying things such as:

"If you lose this game, Buddy Ryan is going to call you a bunch of fat a***s like he did last time. If you don't mind being called a bunch of fat a***s, that's your business."