Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Buying a guitar

Mr. S

I know many of you are guitar players, so I thought you could help again. Almost 2 months ago, I said I was gonna pick up guitar and try to teach myself. You all were pretty helpful then, and I've been progressing relatively well, learning some basic songs, my ear is a lot better trained, and im starting to figure out some songs w/o tabs now, only basic ones though still.

I soon want to buy a guitar and I have a few questions. I have never bought one before, so I really dont know what to look for, though a friend of mine whos old guitar im currently using will come with me, I just wanted more opinions. I was suggested some Ibanez, Jackson, ESP, and Fender models, all ranged between 150-250$. I want to buy an amp also, and spend 300$ or so all told.

Are Guitar Center's prices reasonable?

What else to look for when buying a guitar, im still a beginner and learning.

Please let me know what to think about, and PM if there is something really big you may know or are trying to dump one of your older ones. Thanks everyone.

Guitar center is cool IMO. You can negotiate with them, the sticker price is not the final price.

Go to www.musiciansfriend.com and research different models and take that knowledge into the store with you.

Guitar Center is owned by musicians friend so the prices are going to be comparable, but you can still negotiate.

My brother bought a bass amp two weeks ago and they went 10 percent below the musicians friend price.

Ibanez, Fender, ESP Ltd, Washburn and BC Rich all have "beginner models" in the price range you are seeking. Ibanez and Fender in particular offer some decent packages that include a practice amp. Make sure you get a tuner, thats the most important part for a new player. I can tune by ear, but I still use a tuner.

If you need more specific info, just ask, there's alot of knowledgeable guitar players on extremeskins.