Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Trying to understand Presidential Polls

Duckus

I understand how polling works. I understand how margin of error works. And I understand that polls can be useful. I am not an expert in any of this, but I understand it enough I think.

What I can’t understand is the variation in the poll results DAILY. I can understand significant changes over the course of an election as people decide about candidates. But EVERY day I see new polls – Obama up 12, Obama up 8, McCain up 4, Tied, Obama up 2, and so on and so on. Gallup literally had two polls in one day that were 8 points different.

The reason I don’t get these wild swings is I can probably name the amount of people I know who are truly “undecided” about Obama and McCain on one hand. Most people I know are heavily leaning one way or another. I have also some friends who are not going to vote at all, and others who are voting 3rd party. But really no one I know wakes up Monday being excited for Obama then on Wednesday has a McCain bumper sticker and then on Friday is at an Obama rally back on Obamanation.

Is it just me – does everyone else know who the hell these millions upon millions of undecided are? And not just undecided, but daily flip floppers?

The reason I think its important is that polls seem to stir the national debate on the election. Who is doing well. Is one candidate unstoppable? Is some falling? Is someone surging? Etc, Etc? The entire national debate is crafted by something that seems to be no more than a guess.

I understand how polling works. I understand how margin of error works. And I understand that polls can be useful. I am not an expert in any of this, but I understand it enough I think.