Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

1099 vs W2

egtuna

I am an independent IT contractor currently making $95 per hour. My COBRA is about to expire, and I'm considering converting to W2 with the vendor (not W2 with the client). The rate offered by the vendor for W2 is $80 per hour, which includes health insurance ($1100 per month, which they pay 25%). Since my wife has 2 pre-existing conditions getting health insurance on my own would be ~$1500 per month.

The $95ph to $80ph rate reduction seems a bit high, but through research it's hard to find a common standard to apply when converting. I've seen that W2 should be current rate - 20%, but also have seen current rate - 7.65%. So confusing.

Anyone here have any advice?

Thanks.

7.65% is just your share of the payroll taxes. Under the 1099, you are paying that yourself, but under a W2, your employer is paying that. So that is a clear benefit of the W2.

The 20% estimate is based on the cost of benefits. You should just estimate that based on the difference in your health care expenses (and any other benefits you get, like a 401k, paid vacation, or whatever).

By going W2 do you also get other benefits .... vacation, public holidays, sick? Any retirement contribution?

Just looking at off time. To keep the math simple, say you get 26 days paid leave per year of any sort, i.e. 10% of the total weekdays, 26*8*80 is effectively what they are adding to your total pay that you wouldn't make as an independent.

20% is a standard markup for W-2 employees. It's actually a little better than standard as 30% is not uncommon and if you were direct to your client company their wrap rate could be higher than 200% for their own W-2 employees. Here benefited employee sitting next to you, making about half what you would take home as an hourly guy.