Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A high school game I thought some might enjoy reading about..........

Tom [Giants fan]

I am a high school football coach on Long Island. I am the assistant on the J.V. level. We had a game last night and it was a crazy game.

We were home playing a team we should have destroyed. The only problem is, our starting QB was suspended because of a bit of an altercation. We ended up fumbling the ball away five times. And the other team did an onside kick every time they scored and recovered 3 of them. Bad adjusting on our part.

Our defense which is usually very good had a bad off day and missed a lot of tackles. It was not a pretty first 3 quarters and 9 minutes.

To skip all of the boring stuff let's pick it up with 3 minutes to go in the fourth quarter. We are down 32-21. Keep in mind that we run the triple option which is not suited to come from behind by 11 in one quarter forget about 3 minutes. We went to the no huddle which we have never practiced before. There were two incomplete passes from our 48 and than on 3rd and 10 we got a completion which brought us to their 1 yard line. The next play we punched it in and went for two which brought us within 3 at 32-29.

With only 2:08 left in the game we had to onside kick the ball ourselves. It took a fairly high bounce but right into the hands of one of their players. That is, until one of our guys decleated the guy with the ball making him leave his feet and separating him from the ball. We recovered with 2:03 to go.

Needless to say I wouldn't be typing all this if we didn't score on a toss play with 1:09 to go in the game on a 2nd and 10 after an incomplete pass. We got the extra point and are now up 36-32.