Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Anybody know about investing?

Duckus

Hey guys – I am at my internship trying to get over this hangover at my desk and looking to see if anyone out there knows much about investing because I need to find some statistics for my boss. I am a government affairs intern so usually I am dealing with government policy research, which I know and can do well, but when it comes to investing/finance I am lost. One of my bosses wants me to find out how much money I would get as a return if I had invested 1 dollar in the Dow Jones Index, NASDAQ or real estate in 2005. I was able to find pretty easily the return for the Dow Jones Index in 2005 but I can’t find anything on NASDAQ and I am not sure how to even give a value for real estate (as there is no index like NASDAQ or the Dow Jones). I am not even sure why my boss needs these statistics as this is a lobbying firm, and we don't deal with anything like this usually.

Don’t know if anybody knows the answer to these questions but there are so many people on here that I figure someone does stuff like this.

Anyhow – if anybody knows a good site to find out how much NASDAQ gained in JUST 2005 or how you measure a return on real estate I would be very thankful.