Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Balt. Sun:M. Lewis returns to stomping grounds with fond memories of days in Baltimor

TK

http://www.sunspot.net/sports/football/bal-sp.ravensnotes04dec04,0,2855227.story?coll=bal-sports-football

M. Lewis returns to stomping grounds with fond memories of days in Baltimore

By Brent Jones

Sun Staff

Originally published December 4, 2003

Despite leading his Cincinnati Bengals on a four-game winning streak and a chance to gain a stranglehold on the AFC North with a victory over the Ravens on Sunday, coach Marvin Lewis is not burying his past.

In fact, Lewis, who was defensive coordinator with the Ravens for six seasons, is embracing his return to M&T Bank Stadium.

"Obviously a lot of memories there and a lot of great, great times," Lewis said. "Those memories there propelled me to where I am today. It doesn't matter whether I am a head coach or coached the left guard, it's going to be something. It is quite a place. I get goose bumps when I watch it on tape."

Lewis built one of league's best defenses, climaxing in the 2000 season when the Ravens set a record by allowing just 165 points in a 16-game regular season and won the Super Bowl.

Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis, the catalyst of the defense, won't be looking to reminisce.

"My hat goes off to Marvin," he said. "Marvin is a great coach. He has done a great job in Cincinnati to turn that program around. After that, it ends there."

Marvin Lewis left the Ravens after the 2001 season and built a top 10 defense as coordinator with the Washington Redskins last year.

It has not been as easy in Cincinnati. The Bengals are 22nd in total defense this season, 18 spots below the Ravens.

R. Lewis honored

He may have been snubbed out of a Player of the Week award for his 18-tackle, one interception performance against the San Francisco 49ers on Sunday, but Ray Lewis was named the AFC's Defensive Player of the Month yesterday.