Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

What posters wrestled in High school or college

Tommy-the-Greek

I just wanted to know what members are also wrestlers.

I wrestled 45 as a fresh

57 as a Soph.

67 as a Jr.

85 as a Sr.

I wrestled 88 my freshman year got hurt.

I was a HS coach for 8 years, until my back surgery.

Thinking about trying to do it again as soon as I start feeling better. I just love the sport. It is very hard to just walk away.

I did.

118 Lake Taylor High Norfolk VA

126 White Plains High - NY

126/132 White Plains - NY

I know what you mean Tommy. I decided to try wrestling because the gym coach said it was the toughest sport and I wanted to get tough. I spent my first year mostly counting lights but I was hard as h#ll to pin. My highlight came at the end of the year when I snaped a bone in my hand on an early takedown shot (I HEARD it snap) and refused to quit, going so far as to lie to the coach. I lost the match but I finished it and at one point even pulled a switch with my broken hand (that S#!T HURT!). As bad as I sucked as a wrestler that year, the coach later called me the toughest wrestler on the team, used me as an example of never quiting, and called it the best match of the year. I had never done anything in my life to earn such praise and from that point on, this skinny little punk was hooked. My later years in New York I got pretty good. Went to a bunch of tournaments and took first or second in most. I never got to the point where I was one of the very best but as a team, we won the conference and divisional championships as underdogs.

Very cool that you went back to coach. I was never that focused after high school. It took me years to find my path. I admire your choice and dedication to the sport.