Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Religion and Science

Ignatius J.

There seems to be a brief lull in the religion/science department, so I figured I'd post something that may or may not be coherant or relevant.

As some of you may remember from brief discussions about black holes and the like, I am a physics student going on to UCLA for graduate study in the field, so the logical foundations of science are something I have given some thought to. One of the most problematic issues with science is the so-called "grue paradox" which basically takes a shotgun to our entire basis for scientific thinking. Before, I state the paradox, I want to let you guys know that this isn't just something I cooked up. Many scientific philosophers have been struggling with this since the 1800's and to this date, no one has any idea how to solve it. If anyone does solve it, Princeton (or college of your choice) has an opening for them in the philosophy department.

As for why I'm posting it, It is to me, the best single argument why religion and science should be held on exactly the same footing. The fact that no one can solve the problem is a little disconcerting.

Here goes:

There are two types of inferences in this world. Inductive and deductive. Deductive reasoning is simple logic and works by stating premises and examining the conclusions implied by the premises.

All Greeks are stupid.

Plato was a greek,

therefore, plato was stupid.

If we are given the first two statements, deductive reasoning tells us the third. All is fine and well.

Inductive reasoning is clearly trickier. This type of reasoning is the domain of science, and is used as the justification of statements like the following:

Every time I go to the store, there's a homeless guy begging for change. Therefore, there will be a homeless guy at the store the next time I go.