Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Skins media bias busted

Spaceman Spiff

I looked and didn't see this posted so here you go...

http://redskins.scout.com/2/374031.html

Views of Campbell plunged when taken by Skins

Skins Media Bias: Caught Red Handed

By Rich Tandler Site Editor

Date: Apr 25, 2005

Tandler's Redskins Blog Ver. 4.25.05

One who praised Jason Campbell prior to draft day is now laughing at the Skins for taking him.

I'm not one to whine much about media bias against the Redskins. Yes, there is a lot of negative reporting about the Redskins. It's hard to find a Skins draft grade out there above what I got in high school physics (and there's a reason I'm not a rocket scientist). My line of reasoning has been based on the fact that until they make the playoffs again or at least post a couple of consecutive winning seasons, the critics will be out there.

Sometimes, however, the critics get caught in a biased moment. When something they said in a context that doesn't involve the Redskins suddenly does pertains to Danny Snyder's team, the positive spin becomes inoperative and turns negative, or vice versa depending on the situation.

Read the following statement and tell me who made it:

Campbell looked really good -- so good that you find yourself wondering: How can a scout watch this kid and not label his arm, athleticism and field presence all first-round gifts?

Was it Joe Gibbs or Vinny Cerrato? Auburn coach Tommy Tubberville? Some homer Redskins blogger out there?

No, it was said in this article by Peter King. Yes, the very same Peter King who annually draws the ire of Redskins fans when he leads to charge to block Art Monk's entry into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The very same Sports Illustrated writer who hasn't had anything good to say about the Redskins since the Norv Turner era.