Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

OT: Adoption

My wife and I have been kicking around adoption for several years now and we have decided that we are definitely going that route. Problem is we are having some difficulty finding an agency we are comfortable with. Either the agency is too expensive, or they do not work with couples living in MD, or the restrictions require both prospective parents to be 30 or older, or whatever. Its starting to get discouraging. If any of you have inforomation on a quality agency we would apprecaite the help. We are most interested in adoption from China--the prospects for infant girls there are horrible--but we are open other options.

Thanks guys.

We would probably have to go oversees for every place except for Korea, but that isn't a problem. The problem is that many Eastern European countries are attaching about $15,000 to the already high cost of adoption to make a little cash. We just can't afford to help ballance their nation's budget.

Mardi, are you serious? If so, that is absolutely awesome. I know it's kind of a round about approach, but if you want, I'll ask my girlfriend (nurse in a pieds unit) to ask her best friend (social worker). Between the two of them, they may have some information for you.

My girlfreind and I have been talking about kids when we get married and one of her life long dreams in to be a foster parent for medically fragile kids. We're both in agreement that we will probably becomde foster parent when we get married. In any event, I know she has done some looking into adoptions and foster parenting, so she may already know the info.

Mardi,

My wife and I have been foster parents for a long time, both in northern Virginia and in PA, and we adopted our son through a foster care agency.

If you're looking for an infant with no or few issues, then the overseas adoption might be the best way to go.