Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

What are the odds? - scottrinck.com (One of the most perfect photos you will ever see)

Mad Mike

Photo by: Scott Rinckenberger

What are the odds -Scott Rinckenberger Photography Blog

Scott-Rinckenberger-Meteor-marked.jpg

I’ve been shooting photos for 20 years. I’ve made my living in the profession for the last 15. I can count on one hand the number of times that everything lined up perfectly and a truly rare image was created. Now, I don’t want to toot my own horn about this shot, but the fact that, during a 30 second exposure, after a 10 second timer (during which I hopped down from the roof of my truck where the camera was on a tripod, and joined the scene by the fire), a meteor(or so they tell us) would enter the sky EXACTLY in the corner of the frame and explode in the very part of the frame that needed balance, just as I had finally worked out the correct exposure and lighting to match the foreground with the night sky, is beyond rare. It’s a non-chance. There is no way to plan for something like this. No way to even hope for it.

Follow the link for the whole amazing story.

Eh ... I understand that it's possible to change exposure on cameras. I'm questioning whether multiple images are required to get the exposure needed for the stars without getting massive over exposure from the camp lights.

No. That's a single 30 second exposure possibly not long after dusk with a little light still in the sky. It looks like a small fire and some other lights were used to light the foreground. He may have used dim lights or something like a rear curtain sinc. Which is just a fancy way of saying a long exposure for the stars with quick flash at the end. At any rate he says that he had taken a few test shots to get the exposure right before the final shot.