Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

For The Wwii Buffs

codeorama

This summer, I joined a pool that I had been a member of up until I was 18. Wanted my son the get to swim every day and make some new friends.

When I was a kid, there was this guy that came to the pool daily at 5 pm and swam laps. He looked 50 ish and never talked to many people.

After all these years, he still has the same routine. By chance, one of the pool board members introduced me to him because I'm a history teacher. Turns out, he's the most fascinating guy I've ever met.

He's currently 85 years old. Doesn't look a day over 55. Swims about a mile daily. Runs 3. A model of physical fitness.

He is German. Grew up in the middle of Nazi Germany. Actually met Hitler as a first grader. His teacher took all the kids from the school to meet him when he visited ( this was before the war started ).

So, for the entire summer, I met with him daily. We talked about the world. I learned a great deal. His kids are prominent researchers at major universities. His outlook on the world is unique.

The cool thing is that he lives not far from me and jogs past my house every morning as my son and I are leaving for school.

I'll post more about his opinions and views later. Installing iOS 7 on my phone.

Love to hear what the German people really knew about the concentration camps and what went on.

Recent article from Post about a woman who's father ran Auschwitz:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/magazine/hiding-in-n-virginia-a-daughter-of-auschwitz/2013/09/06/1314d648-04fd-11e3-a07f-49ddc7417125_story.html

I read this the other day too. The part where the store owners found out who she was was pretty touching.

Ok, sorry for the delay.

I honestly don't know where to begin.

I guess I'll start with the war.