Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Pissed at my university...Am I being unreasonable?

Skinz4Life12

So I'm getting my second degree at the same univeristy I got my first degree at.

All I need is 2 credits to graduate and they can be general education credits. So of course I sign up for a 2 week rock climbing class because it will be easy and fun. (This course is only 2 credits)

Anyways, I show up for the "orientation" class last Friday. We talk about what we are going to be doing, where we would be meeting, etc.

So Saturday morning rolls around and I show up at the park only to find out the class has been cancelled because the univeristy wasn't able to obtain a special permit. So now they are trying to work things out with the park service but ultimately the class may be cancelled permanently if things aren't resolved by Friday.

I'm heated for a few different reasons. 1) The students were never made aware of this situation or the possiblity that this could happen 2) The class is being cancelled after it has already started 3) This is the last class I need to graduate 4) I'm getting married and moving out of state in the fall so I can't take classes during that semester

So now I'm looking at alternative classes I can take this summer (most of which are already completed or about to be completed) and I find one class that I can take. Its a 3 credit class and I only need 2 credits to graduate. There are no other 2 credit classes being offered this summer.

The differene in price between the 3 credit and 2 credit class is hundreds of dollars. The univeristy is refusing to eat this cost even though they couldn't fulfill their obligation on the rock climbing class.

Am I mad to be pissed off over this situation? The whole thing is throwing a wrench into my plans and has put my life on hold for the moment. Do students have no rights in situations like this?

So I'm getting my second degree at the same univeristy I got my first degree at.