Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

TNR: Cordray's Recess Appointment Sure Doesn't Look Constitutional To Me

GhostofSparta

I didn't see this posted yet (amazingly), but maybe I just missed it while searching. If so, please merge mods.

http://www.tnr.com/blog/timothy-noah/99229/cordrays-recess-appointment-sure-doesnt-look-constitutional-me

Cordray's Recess Appointment Sure Doesn't Look Constitutional To Me

by Timothy Noah

I'm no lawyer, but:

As someone who strongly supported a recess appointment for Richard Cordray to run the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, I'm confused as to why President Obama chose to act today. Had he appointed Cordray yesterday, during a brief period when the Senate was technically in recess, the action would have been supported by precedent. Apparently, though, that appointment would have lasted only through 2012. By appointing Cordray today, Obama can keep him at CFPB through 2013.

The trouble is that the Senate isn't in recess. For complicated reasons the Republicans have the ability to prevent the Senate from going into recess, and they have done so in order to maximize the difficulty of Obama making recess appointments. The White House maintains that keeping the Senate in pro forma session is a stupid gimmick, which is certainly true. It further maintains that because it is a stupid gimmick, that gives the president the right to act as though the Senate were in recess. That's the part I have trouble following.

Read it all at the link.

So I can already see the road this thread will go down, but I'm hoping to get an answer from those who know more about this: Is this move Constitutional? And if it isn't, does this set a bad precedent?

It may or may not be Constitutional. We will never know because no court will take up the case. And it's nothing different than every other President has done before. And the reaction of the GOP is identical to the reaction from every other minority party when it happened before.