Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Scott's Sports Blog: Why I bet the Patriots, and why I regret it

Mr. Nostril

I've been toying around with writing a sports blog for a couple years now, but I've been fairly undisciplined about it. I just put my first post in over 6 months. Any thoughts, positive or negative are appreciated.

http://scottssportsblog.tumblr.com/

At about 5:00 on Sunday nights, the following week’s NFL lines are hung by bookmakers, and I’m refreshing my browser to see where the lines start. Over the course of the next 24 hours, the lines see their most dramatic movement. Yesterday, the Patriots – Jets game for Sunday night was a pick, and I immediately put some money on the Patriots. My thought process was that the line was an overreaction to the Patriots loss to the Giants just before this line was hung. I figured any time you have a chance to bet on Tom Brady and Bill Bellichick off of back to back losses, and you don’t have to lay any points, it’s a bet you have to take. The last time the Patriots lost 3 or more consecutive games was 2002, when they lost 4 in a row from week 4 to week 7. That’s the only time a losing streak of more than 2 games has happened in the Brady/Bellichick era. So, why not bet against it happening again? However, now I’m wishing I’d bet the other side, because I think by betting the Jets you’d be taking the better team, and the better team would have homefield advantage.