Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

So I just joined the board of my condo association...

Forehead

and am wondering what I'm getting myself into here, if anyone has prior experience. For background, it's not a large community, only 77 units total, but a total lack of involvement. They had mailed out notice of the annual meeting to take place yesterday evening, and I decided to go for the first time. I would have gone in years past but it always conflicted with my night classes.

Anyway, I show up...along with six other people, one of whom is the property manager and not an owner...so six owners out of 77. Apparently (I'm new to all this) you need 25% of all owners present to have an annual meeting, something which has never been achieved.

The meeting immediately canceled, they moved on to the board meeting, then asked anyone who showed up if they wanted to be on it. Apparently, there were only three board positions filled out of five. No treasurer, and I guess an at-large member position. I figure I should get invovled where I live to some degree, so I volunteered to be the treasurer, one of the other new folks took over as secretary, etc.

The board meeting was about as boring as you'd expect...budgets, delinquent accounts, complaints, etc. I guess I'm just curious as to what to expect going forward. I learned a fair amount last night, such as why our condo fees keep being raised. Apparently, every five years an engineer comes through and assesses what the 30 year cost to maintain the area would be, accounting for new roofs, concrete replacement, etc. That 30 year expense account is supposed to be in the bank, something we aren't even close to. I learned a bit about the requirements for FHA certification to make the development available to FHA loans.