Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

ES Exclusive:Fergasun Fail's at Debunking Bloomberg Stats

Fergasun

ES Exclusive: Fergasun Eat's Crow

After doing a further examination of the census data from 2009, it appears that I can't back up my claims, and it's very plausible I am wrong and Bloomberg is correct. I only looked at the DC page, and did not look at the surrounding counties (ie. Arlington county has something like a $92k median household income). I could not find census data from 2010... although in 2009 it appeared Bay Area and DC were getting extremely close as far as household income goes.

I'm glad I'm not a professional, paid, blogger.... because this would've been embarrassing... I was damn sure that there was something funny going on with the numbers... it was... I didn't look at the full data set... (at least for 2009). Had I looked I would've seen that DC population is very low in terms of house hold income; but the surrounding counties more than make up for it.

Please disregard the bottom post, but I'll keep it for accuracy's sake.

Here's a link to the story and the second paragraph:

The U.S. capital has swapped top spots with Silicon Valley, according to recent Census Bureau figures, with the typical household in the Washington metro area earning $84,523 last year. The national median income for 2010 was $50,046.
First of all, I don't know if Washington DC has jumped San Jose or not. According to Census stats on Wikipedia, the median household income in San Jose was ~$63k, and then median income in DC was ~$57k (I assume this is 2008, or 2009). However, I guarantee everyone reading this story that there is no way on heaven and earth that the median household income in the Washington metro area was $84,523. This would mean a jump of $17k over the most recent period. These stats do not pass the smell test. I can't even find the data over at the Census department... it appears Bloomberg made their own calculations. Nice job.