Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Are there any first time home buyer incentives out there now?

Skins_Fan82

Not sure on the tax credit thing, but one thing to look out for in the current market is that you get a fixed interest rate. I am not an expert but with the looming credit rating drop of the Uniterd States from AAA, I would assume that interest rates on mortgages will be substantially higher and you don't want to get burned. Just something to ask your broker about.

Yeah, luckily I locked in my rate before August 2nd. Interest rates have already gone up in the last few weeks.

I'm going VA loan so I don't need a down payment which has been nice, but I'm thinking there has to be SOMETHING out there, other than claiming my house come tax time.

I apologize in advance for what might seem like dumb questions, but I don't have any guidance and im doing all this on my own. Im clueless lol.

I wanted to start a thread aobut this on monday, so just to add to the convo... I was one of the many Americans who participated in the 1st round of the $8,000 tax incentive for first time homebuyers. The first one is owed backed entirely. The 2nd round of the Tax Incentive stated that none was due back (although I don't know all the sub-rules of this).

For the one I participiated in, it works as such... starting with tax returns filed for the 2010 tax year, you must pay $500 minimum but can pay more if you choose to.