Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

How serious do you take your drumming ?

Mickalino

I got some of those silent Pearl Rhythm Traveler drumheads last week. They're nice! Like them very much. Goes without saying that they're very quiet, but if you want them to be as silent as possible you'll have to mess with the muffling. I put a regular bed pillow in the bass drum, damn thing is so quiet. I have to switch to the birch snare so it's even more quiet, but it's still great on the metal one. Good to work new techniques on these things, as nobody will know you messed up. :)

Over the years I've found much more of an appreciation for those who are great at grooving with incredible accenting. Right now I'm studying this video religiously, so many good things to learn!

Yeah that's one of the most classic pure drumming videos out there. I like how all three of their styles are all a lot different. Weckl, the clear phrasing jazz man with a mullet, Gadd the classic rock 'n roller with a fro, Colaiuta the spastic fusion nerd with a superman costume under his suit. I used to watch this video all the dang time back in the day :ols: Same concert:

5jUIHqCIIO4

Love this stuff...can watch it for hours...cut my teeth on Krupa, Rich, Bellson etc...love to see the art move forward each generation while still respecting the past giants...too cool. :)

Maybe time soon to bump Om's old percussion thread. :)

DSR, my first complete kit (1969) was a gorgeous Pearl gold & black gloss tiger-stripe/swirl finish.... to this day one of the most beautiful looks I've seen. Ah, nostalgia...someday I need to dig up & download a pic of it form back then (at great risk to showing myself as a 15 yo :ols:)

You got a video of your own on youtube, doublestroke ?

I've always meant to get one up but I haven't been filmed in years. Thanks for reminding me though!

---------- Post added July-28th-2011 at 01:33 AM ----------