Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Buying a house and commuting to Tysons-- any advice appreciated

LiveStrongSkins

We recently have been approved for a mortgage and are excited to start the house hunt. Our situation is a little sticky. The commute does not effect me because Im a firefighter/medic for Prince William County. She is a CPA for a firm in Tysons Corner. Traffic is her worst nightmare, and is her hanging point in buying a place. The problem is I cant figure out ANYWHERE in this area where traffic into Tysons wont be a grizzly. I definetly do not want to pay 300k for a condo in Alexandria, nor do I want to have this nice place in a place like Lake Ridge where she hates life driving 1.5 hours each way. Does anyone on here work in Tysons, if so, where do you work from? Tell me about your commute and if youve gotten used to it or if its made life miserable. Thanks in advance for any help

---------- Post added June-19th-2011 at 06:56 PM ----------

Also, any recommendations for areas, neighborhoods on main vessels into Tysons would help as well.

---------- Post added June-19th-2011 at 06:57 PM ----------

Were going to start looking in three areas. Lake Ridge (the farthest shed commute), Centreville/Chantilly, Herndon

Lake Ridge to Tysons would be an absolute nightmare of a daily commute... although you're kind of screwed going towards Tyson's from any direction during rush hour. What's the rough limit on what you're willing to spend for property? That'll rule out quite a few spots pretty quickly.

EA, most days she doesnt leave until 930.... as rush hour is dying down. Is 123 up to Tysons hellacious? Ive never made the drive. Were mainly looking for townhomes topped out at 300k. Thats as high as wed like to go for a starter home. Just dont really know where to start. Is there ANYWHERE where the drive in to Tysons is atleast managable? Centreville? Chantilly?