Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Thoughts on affirmative action from someone who was hired for his race.

polywog999

I graduated from a level four daycare for troubled kids. Level five would be a state hospital. I road the short bus to school every morning and there were three people in my graduating class. I, along with George Stark of the hogs, gave speeches that were well received. I entered the work force at aged 19.

I flipped burgers for a while for $3.30 an hour, but my girlfriend at the time wanted a more "dateable" man. She found me a job, but there was a catch - they needed a white guy.

At the time, all I could think of was Wow! I got a job! A job that paid triple what I was making. It was latter on, that the guilt and the feelings of unworthiness set in.

I had taken a job from someone more qualified than me - I had no experience, none. I was young, I was dressed well and I was white - that's it. I barely knew how to count change.

I ended up not looking very white anyway. I am very dark-skinned and I have a tendency to be chameleon like. I was talking like I was from the area in two weeks. I looked dressed and acted like I was born in Landover.

I wanted to be good at what I did. I did not want to be known as a token anything. Try as I may though, I could never live it down. I was even told once, "no, no no! We didn't hire you for ideas....we hired you because you were a white dude!" Junie never meant anything by that, he was making a joke - but it really hurt.

I got very sick in 1984. I was kind of out of my mind for about 6 years. I hung on, best as I could, but I could no longer do the job and I left.

I wanted something more anyway. I wanted to be hired for being a good candidate. For looking and talking sharp, for standing out, but for the right reasons.