Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Information please: Church of God

Teller

So I've been looking for a new church for a while now. I've had some bad experiences, which I won't get into here, but I've been looking for a new direction as far as my faith family goes.

Today, I sold a new car to a local pastor, who is a Church of God minister. I shared with him that I feel like I've been burned by a couple of bad experiences, and was in the process of looking for a new church. Of course, he invited me to visit his parish, which I appreciated.

I just wanted to see if any of my ES brothers and sisters had any information on the Church of God denomination. Please do not use this thread to bash people of any faith, or lack thereof. There are plenty of threads out there for that. I just wanted to get an idea of the Church of God's basic beliefs, worship style, etc.

If it helps in determining whether you think I might be comfortable there, I'm a Lutheran, and also spent a few years in a Methodist church when I was a kid. Any information you can provide would be most appreciated. Thanks!

I don't think there's any way to answer that question, unfortunately. My understanding is that most "Church of God"s are entirely independent of all the others, so you'd have to judge it on a case by case basis.

Personally, I'd ask the pastor for a statement of faith (the church's, not the pastor's, though that might help too ;)), and compare it to your own beliefs. Any church should have one, as well as some sort of constiution, probably.

I don't think there's any way to answer that question, unfortunately. My understanding is that most "Church of God"s are entirely independent of all the others, so you'd have to judge it on a case by case basis.

Personally, I'd ask the pastor for a statement of faith (the church's, not the pastor's, though that might help too ;)), and compare it to your own beliefs. Any church should have one, as well as some sort of constiution, probably.