Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Clifton Smith

RTerps2002

A lot of people like Antonio, but a lot of people on this board also have short memories. I don't know if you saw the game last night, but Pierce wasn't at his best. He was frequently around the ball, but his tackling left a lot to be desired. Nonetheless, he's solid, rarely makes mental errors, and at least for now, deserves a roster spot.

I'm a student at Syracuse so I know im biased but Clifton Smith is a total stud. Don't even bother to read anything about his play last year - the team was so bad no one player could have changed that. Two year ago, however, he and Freeney were the major reasons why the team was able to reach double digits in wins with a below average offense - the D was incredible. Freeney was allowed to fly into the backfield every play because Smith would handle any run that got by him. I remember reading that Clifton ended up having more tackles in college then Ray Lewis - how he went undrafted I'll never know. If we let him go WE WILL regret it in the next 2-3 years.

Interestingly Smith was rated right with Hobson at the middle backer spot in this draft and Hobson went to the Jets with their second pick after Robertson. Smith came to us as a free agent. That represents pretty substantial value. I don't think he's necessarily more athletic than Pierce as Pierce is a very athletic guy, but, he does need to make the roster. I think Mitchell and Pierce will as well, and Eddie Mason is just a phone call away for the last spot.

du7st,